Waiting

I’ve found that sometimes now during the day, I wonder what today’s “good” thing is going to be. I’ll admit that sometimes it’s not in the most optimistic way, but it does give me hope in the sense that I’m learning that so many unexpected things can happen just in one day, and more often that not, at least some of it is good!

Yesterday was Xavier’s thesis defense – after 5 long years, he’s now a doctor!!! I was really sad not to be there with him and see his presentation and everything. I know firsthand how much hard work, passion and sacrifice he put into it. In fact, I’m not sure I would be able to do what he’s done (working 3 out of 4 weeks of the month and spending one week on his thesis). Even though I’m sad to be an ocean away, I still feel myself puff up with pride and happiness for him. He sounded so relieved and happy afterwards, and I’m not at all surprised that he passed with flying colors! I miss him all the more, but it just makes me look forward more to seeing him in December!!!

Also, yesterday at work at Chapelure, I was unexpectedly rewarded by getting all of the tips because I had worked extra hard because my fellow barista was training a new person!

I’m reading The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert, and it truly is a striking book. I am compelled to keep reading – everything that happens is so unexpected and the writing is beautiful and poetic while at the same time rough and crass. At times it’s unequivocally and unexpectedly joyful while at others it is heart wrenchingly tragic. I am not sure yet whether I will like how it ends, but I know that I will enjoy devouring every bit of it!

Leave a Reply

