Good weather is amaaaaazing!

Today, the impending cold of fall was put on hold, as the sun came and it reached (gasp!) almost 70 degrees! Sunny and warm, AND I was able to enjoy it from the windows at work. But the best part was taking my “lunch” break outside around 3. It was warm, enough to want to roll up my sleeves, but not enough to make me break out in a sweat, a slight breeze…I just ate and enjoyed my leftover burrito and salad.

The best part about my lunch break is that it’s MANDATORY. In other words, the schedule is made each day, and everyone is scheduled a break, during which time they aren’t scheduled anywhere else, and there are only specific tasks that can carried out. Everyone takes a lunch break. Everyone knows and respects how important it is to take breaks from work. I’ve never worked in an environment like this – there always was pressure to just work through lunch (which never really works because you aren’t productive and you don’t really enjoy your lunch or give your brain a break), and since I can be a bit of a workaholic, I’m glad that I’m forced to take a break. I’m practicing making the most of my break to restore myself and go back to work refreshed and energized. And I find it helps me feel less tired at the end of the day!

Leave a Reply

